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ALABAMA G.I. DEPENDENTS SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM 
 
 

This academic scholarship program is administrated by the State of Alabama, 
Department of Veterans Affairs, and applies to the dependents of Alabama’s disabled 
veterans. 

 
This pamphlet was prepared to give a brief summary of these benefits. If full and 
comprehensive treatment of the law is desired, it may be found in the Section 31-6-1, et 
seq., Code of Alabama (1975). 

 
Representatives of this Department, known as Veterans Service Officers, are located 
throughout the state.  Their offices are normally located in the county courthouse or in 
the immediate vicinity.  They will be happy to assist applicants with these educational 
benefits.  Their services are entirely free. 

 
For additional information about the services of our Department, please visit our 
website at www.va.alabama.gov 

 
 
  
                                         “SIGNED” 
     
 W. Clyde Marsh 
                                    Commissioner 
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ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 
 

The veteran must meet the following qualifications to establish eligibility of his/her 
dependents: 

 
 

MILITARY SERVICE 
 

An honorable discharge or other proof of honorable termination of service of the veteran 
or serviceman in the armed forces for a period of at least 90 consecutive days of active 
duty service or service less than 90 consecutive days of active duty service if the veteran 
or serviceman was discharged or released by reason of service-connected disability. 

 
 

DISABILITY REQUIREMENT 
 

The veteran must meet one of the following service-connected disability conditions 
established by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (formerly the Veterans 
Administration) or the appropriate military service department: 

 
a) A former prisoner of war (POW); or 

b) Declared missing in action (MIA); or 

c) Died as the result of a service-connected disability; or 

d) Died while on active military service in the line of duty; or 

e) rated 40% or more due to his/her service-connected disability(ies). 

 

Veterans with a disability rating of 20-30% may qualify if the effective date of their 
disability rating is on or before July 31, 2017. This provision will expire on July 31, 
2023. 

 

Veterans whose disability rating is less than 20% prior to May 23, 2017 but who had a 
claim for compensation pending prior to that date which resulted in a final award by the 
United States Department of Veterans Affairs of at least 20% may be eligible if the 
dependent applies for benefits within six months of that final adjudication. 
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STATE RESIDENCY REQUIREMENTS 
 
1. The veteran must have been a permanent civilian resident of the State of Alabama 

for at least one year immediately prior to their initial entry into active federal 
military service.  Initial entry into federal active military service or any subsequent 
entry into federal active military service where a 12 month break in service 
occurred 

AND one of the following: 
 

a) Current resident for at least two years immediately prior to the date of this 
application or date of veteran’s death; or 

b) Current resident who was discharged within the last 12 months; or 

c) Filed a resident Alabama income tax return for the past 10 consecutive years. 

Permanently service-connected veterans rated at 100% who do not meet the above 
residency requirements may qualify after establishing proof that they have been a bona 
fide resident for at least five years immediately prior to the date of this application or 
the date of the veteran’s death. Applies to 100% permanent and total ratings only. 

 
DEPENDENT 

 
A dependent is defined under our program as a child, stepchild, spouse or un-remarried 
widow(er). 
 
 

DEPENDENT STUDENT REQUIREMENTS 

 

As of July 31, 2017, Students applying for benefits for the first time must meet all of the 
following: 

1. Must be a current resident of the state of Alabama at the time of application and 
maintain that residency while receiving the benefit; and. 

2. Must complete a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) for each 
year that they are covered under the Alabama G.I. Dependent Scholarship 
Program; and 

3. Must comply with Standards of Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) as 
defined by their education institution; and 
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4. Must complete a Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) release 
form for each educational institution that they attend to authorize the release of 
personally identifiable information required to determine continued eligibility 
and as required for necessary reporting.  

 
 

ENTITLEMENTS 
 
Children and stepchildren of qualified veterans may receive five standard academic 
years (10 semesters) at any Alabama State-supported institution of higher learning or a 
prescribed course of study at any state–supported technical college to be used for 
undergraduate courses of study at the in-state tuition rate. 

Spouses or un-remarried widow (er)s of a veteran rated as 100% permanently and 
totally disabled may also received five standard academic years (10 semesters) at any 
Alabama State-supported institution of higher learning or a prescribed course of study at 
any state–supported technical college to be used for undergraduate courses of study at 
the in-state tuition rate. 

Spouses or un-remarried widow (er)s of a veteran rated 40-90% disabled are entitled to 
three standard academic years ( 6 semesters) at any Alabama State-supported institution 
of higher learning or a prescribed course of study at any state–supported technical 
college to be used for undergraduate courses of study at the in-state tuition rate. 

Beginning with applications received at the Alabama Department Headquarters office 
with a postmark dated on or after July 31, 2017, tuition will be limited to the 
Department of Defense Tuition Assistance Cap (currently $250 per semester hour) and 
required textbooks and applicable fees will be limited to a combined $1,000 total per 
student for each semester. Schools may waive any overages of these charges at their 
discretion. All scholarships and grants must be applied to education expenses first 
(unless otherwise prescribed by state law) and the Alabama G.I. Dependent Scholarship 
Program will be applied for any permissible remaining charges pursuant to current state 
law. 

Please note: Students who made application prior to Fall 2009 received a lower amount 
of awarded semesters and students who made application prior to Fall 2014 were not 
required to utilize benefits for undergraduate courses of study. 

.   
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NUMBER OF AWARDS 
 
There is no restriction on the number of eligible dependents under the veteran; however, 
each dependent may only receive the benefit once, regardless of changes in their future 
dependency status. 
 
 

AGE DEADLINE 
 
The child or stepchild must initiate training under our program prior to his/her 26th 
birthday.  In certain situations, a child or stepchild may be eligible for our program up to 
the age of 30.  If the applicant is a stepchild, the veteran and the stepchild’s parent must 
be legally married prior to the child’s 19th birthday.   
 
 
 

UNAUTHORIZED COURSES 
 
Our program does not pay for noncredit courses, remedial courses, placement testing, 
GED preparation, continuing educational courses, pre-technical courses, or state board 
examinations or any classes beyond undergraduate courses of study. 
 
 

SUPPLIES 
 
Our scholarship program does not pay for supplies such as pens, paper, notebooks, 
tools, art supplies, uniforms, computer software products, etc. 
 
 

BOOK PURCHASES 
 
The G.I. Dependent Scholarship Program will only pay for those textbooks that are 
required for the courses in which the student is officially enrolled.  Our program does 
not pay for the purchase of reference manuals, access codes, suggested reading 
materials, study guides, or recommended workbooks, etc.  Reimbursement will not be 
made. 
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ELIGIBILITY LIMITATIONS AND TERMINATION 
 
Dependents are eligible to participate in the program only as long as they remain the 
legal dependent of the veteran from which they derive their eligibility.  In the event of a 
divorce action, the former spouse or stepchild will be ineligible to participate effective 
the date of the divorce.  Any educational financial obligations entered into after the 
divorce date will be the responsibility of the former spouse or stepchild. 
 
Widow(er) forfeits all entitlements upon remarriage without further consideration of 
reinstatement. 
 
 

APPLICATION ASSISTANCE 
 
Applications may be obtained at any Alabama Department of Veterans Affairs Office.  
To find the county office closest to you, please visit our website at: 
www.va.alabama.gov 

ALABAMA STATE SUPPORTED SCHOOLS 
 

 Alabama A & M University – Normal 
 Alabama State University – Montgomery 
 Athens State College – Athens 
 Auburn University – Auburn, and Montgomery  
 Bevill State Community College – Fayette, Hamilton, Sumiton, and Jasper  
 Bishop State Community College - Main, Carver, and Southwest  
 Central Alabama Community College – Alexander City and Childersburg  
 Chattahoochee Valley Community College – Phenix City 
 Coastal Alabama Community College-Atmore, Bay Minette, Brewton, Fairhope, 

Gilbertown, Gulf Shores, Jackson, Monroeville, Thomasville 
 Enterprise State Community College-Albertville, Andalusia, Decatur, 

Enterprise, Fort Rucker, Mobile, and Ozark  
 Gadsden State Community College – Gadsden, Anniston, and Centre  
 George C. Wallace Community College – Selma, Dothan, Sparks, and 

Hanceville  
 J.F. Drake State Technical College - Huntsville 
 Jacksonville State University – Jacksonville 
 Jefferson State Community College – Birmingham, Pell City, and Clanton  
 John C. Calhoun Community College – Decatur, and Huntsville  
 Lawson State Community College – Birmingham and Bessemer  
 Lurleen B. Wallace State Jr. College – Andalusia, Greenville, Luverne, and Opp  
 Marion Military Institute- Marion 
 Northeast Alabama State Jr. College – Rainsville 
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 Northwest Shoals Community College – Muscle Shoals and Phil Campbell  
 Reid State Technical College - Evergreen 
 Shelton State Community College – Tuscaloosa 
 Snead State Jr. College – Boaz 
 Southern Union Community College – Wadley and Opelika  
 Trenholm State Technical College - Montgomery 
 Troy University - Troy, Montgomery, Dothan, and Phenix City  
 University of Alabama – Birmingham, Huntsville, and Tuscaloosa  
 University of Montevallo – Montevallo 
 University of North Alabama – Florence 
 University of South Alabama – Mobile 
 University of West Alabama – Livingston 

 
*Online courses are covered under this program if offered through the schools listed 
above. 
 


